Skip to content

30 Days of Eating In

January 12, 2010
by

Day 1:

Over the Christmas break, I watched Supersize Me, a documentary in which the volunteer eats only McDonald’s food for 30 days. (This didn’t sound that bad to me…30 days of no dirty dishes.)The sudden and significant decline in his health surprised the doctors and honestly me as well. The doctors expected increased weight and cholesterol levels which he experienced but he also suffered heart issues and  liver damage.

My family is in the unfortunate habit of eating out a couple of times a week – either because I did not plan anything or  the kids and I were running late and it was just easier. This past weekend, I challenged my family to see if we could go 30 days without “eating out.” Surprisingly they all acquiesced quite quickly and agreed to officially start today.

As I was trying to prepare for our start last night, I realized (still cooking at 11 pm) that the biggest change would be for me. I am hoping that over the 30 days I will get in a routine of planning ahead and cooking meals won’t be such a chore.

 I made an easy old-faithful for lunch today: Black Bean Stew.

 

  • 1 Can of Regular tomatoes
  • 1 Can of mild Rotel tomatoes
  • 1 Can of Black Beans
  • Frozen Corn
  • 1 lb. of browned hamburger meat (optional – I do not include)
  • Brown Rice – cooked previously

Add all ingredients except rice. Heat and eat over rice. If watching carb intake, leave out the rice and just eat as a soup.

I tripled the recipe so we can eat it several days for lunch.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Amanda Padgett permalink*
    January 12, 2010 4:24 pm

    I think it is an AWESOME challenge and I really feel pulled to do it myself.

    Great job!

Leave a Reply

