Skip to content

365-64/69 The More I Learn, The Less I Know

March 11, 2010
by

I have not been posting pictures because I am so discouraged with my photos. I took Tracy’s 201 Class and learned so much…mainly that I have no idea what I am doing. I know how I want my picture to turn out but it is just not happening. At this point I am just taking pictures every day and trying to figure out my camera.

I hinted to Amanda that she could take pictures for me and post them here, but surprisingly she did not want to do that.

I took pictures of my bread making process. Sorry about the topic but I love food pictures and I am trying to figure that out right now.

Here is the some of the grain I bought from my wheat co-op. I store it in containers with screw-top lids. They are colored coded so I know what type of grain is in each.

The container with the yellow lid is Kamut, my favorite grain. It is beautiful and golden in person.

The orange container has Praire Gold, the grain makes up 2/3 of the flour I use. It is much cheaper than Kamut and has a great flavor.

 

This is my grain mill. I just pour the grain in the top and turn it on. In about 10 minutes I have 17 cups of fresh-ground flour.

(I grind so much flour because I make the equivalent of 5 loaves of bread every time I bake. Here is the flour from the bottom of the mill.

My Bosch mixer kneads the bread in 5 minutes and I shape into loaves/rolls and let rise for 20 minutes and then bake. I forgot to take pictures of my finished rolls but I have them rising. (I had friends for dinner and we ate them all).

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2010 8:10 am

    The grain pictures are really great!

    I think you are doing a great job taking pictures. Maybe you should go browse pictures from the beginning of some of us that started this last year and see how far we came as the year progressed and we grew in our skills. I think the longer you do this the more you think outside of the box and the more you think about what you can do to get the best out of your camera. Remember the camera is a tool YOU are in control of – people may comment that “you must have a great camera” but once you learn how to take a great shot – you can do it with pretty much any camera – it’s about you.

  2. March 11, 2010 12:17 pm

    You did a great job with the pictures and are doing just fine. PRACTICE is the only way to learn.

    I love the whole bread making process and used to do it. But no time now.

  3. March 11, 2010 2:22 pm

    Great job! I would have loved to see the finished product too!

    I am like you. Most of my pictures are bad! That’s why I take several (10-15) for each idea at different settings. I may get one-two that I keep. The others I delete. Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

