Skip to content

Rainy Days Are Good for Reflection

March 12, 2010
by

 I recently have been talking about a problem I have had my whole life. I feel like I am at AA.

 Hi, my name is Kirstie and I have ADD.

I struggle. I function…sometimes not well, but  I have strategies to try and help. Until recently, I did not talk about it. To talk about it  would acknowledge that I have a problem.

How ADD continues to impact my day: 

  • Almost every time I go to the store, I cannot find my car when I come out. Imagine coming out of Walmart and having no idea which row you parked – every time. More times than not I literally have to walk up and down aisles looking for my car. (I finally talked about this with my sweet husband who told me to park on the same row as the exit…this works when I can remember to do it.)
  • I struggle to focus on what people are saying when they talk to me.  (A way of staying focused is answering/actively responding to people but I end up interrupting them in my effort to participate.)
  • I am embarrassed to read aloud. I will frequently stumble because even though I am reading aloud, my mind has moved ahead in the passage. (Solution: I do not volunteer to read out loud.)
  • I am totally overwhelmed by clutter. If my house is a true mess, I cannot pick it up. This seems silly but I will wander around feeling anxious and overwhelmed. 
  • Did I mention my mind is racing all the time?
  • I struggle to sleep because my mind does not shut down at night. This just compounds the problem the next day if I am tired. Tired + Lack of Concentration = Disaster. (I have found help in the past year for this and love getting some sleep)
  • I am always late on projects. There is a fine line between the sin of procrastation and the sincere struggle to focus to complete a project. This is the area that I dislike most about myself.

I am sad about this. I am not ashamed. God loves me and allowed me to have this problem. What I do about it is up to me.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    March 12, 2010 5:18 pm

    ((hugs)) you’re loved and we’ll tackle this together.

  2. March 12, 2010 6:35 pm

    Thanks for sharing this – it really helps to know these as we interact with children and adults with ADD

  3. March 17, 2010 4:27 am

    That must be really hard to deal with and even harder to share.

Leave a Reply

