Skip to content

Happy New Year

February 1, 2012
by

I am always surprised when people scoff at making goals at the beginning of a new year. I love goals and I love fresh starts; New Year’s brings the two together. The hope of change motivates me, spurs me, entices me.

For 2011, I made two staggering resolutions. First, I gave up soda. (I am still amazed at this one. I love soda!) Second, I gave up candy. I made it all year without either. The candy was easy because I could eat other sweets, and I did. The soda, however, is a different story. It is still a struggle today; and it has been 396 days since I had any. I loved it then and I love it now; I just love it from a distance.

My success last year encouraged me to dream big for 2012. For New Year’s I gave up eating white sugar in everything, and so far I have made it 31 days. Not surprisingly, I have dropped 20 lbs. I feel better and I weigh less, so far a win-win situation.

Today started the last of my New Year’s Resolutions.  I am going to blog regularly, 4-5 times a week, and I am going to do a 365 project this year.  During the first week of January when I was cooking from scratch every dawn to dusk, I decided I needed to stagger the rest of my resolutions. By posting eight pictures each week, eventually I will be caught up.

Hedgehog at Co-op

2/365 Lindsay Before the Performance

Both of these pictures are straight out of my iphone camera.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

